York Technical College’s Monique Perry, Dean of Enrollment Services, is the 2017 recipient of the A. Wade Martin Innovator of the Year Award. The award was presented during the recent South Carolina Technical Education Association’s (SCTEA) annual conference at Myrtle Beach.

The A. Wade Martin Award recognizes individuals in the South Carolina Technical College System who employ innovative approaches to meet the ever changing needs in the technical education arena, and whose achievements impact most positively in our statewide efforts in economic development and the education of our students. The award was established in 1980 to pay tribute to the vision of A. Wade Martin, the first executive director of the technical and industrial training program in South Carolina. Martin was recognized as one of the best industrial developers and occupational educators in the country.

perryheadshot“Monique Perry is a star,” stated Stacey Moore, Executive Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs at York Technical College. “She responds to the changing needs and challenges at the College with students, with her employees, and with colleagues with the utmost grace, intelligence and drive to work hard to maximize student success.”  Dr. Moore shared that Dr. Perry’s efforts in on-boarding the enrollment management process at the College, leading her team into a retention and completion paradigm and her efforts towards continuous improvement with a “no student falls through the cracks” philosophy, were key in being nominated for this year’s award.

The Executive Committee of the South Carolina Technical College System Foundation selects the award recipient from nominations submitted by each of the 16 colleges in the South Carolina Technical College System.  Dr. Perry is only the second York Tech employee to receive the award since its inception. The award recipient receives a framed award and a $500 cash reward.

Also during the SCTEA conference, college-voted Employee of the Year winners from three categories were recognized. The 2017 winners for York Technical College are Linda Weaver-Griggs, Associate Vice President of Health and Human Services (Administrator Award), Lydia Hall, Director of Admissions and Outreach (Staff Award), and Wesley Spinks, Department Chair for Mathematics (Faculty Award).